close   X

healthcare locations

Search Locations

close   X

4/30/12news article

pediatricians from Dayton to present at the Pediatric Academic Societies meeting in Boston

twenty representatives from Dayton Children’s and Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine will showcase original research to 7,500 pediatricians 

DAYTON, Ohio – Pediatricians and researchers representing the Children’s Medical Center of Dayton and Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine will present at the Pediatric Academic Societies (PAS) 2012 Annual Meeting. This year, 7,500 leaders in academic pediatrics are expected to gather in Boston, April 28- May 1. 

These world-class physicians and scientists in the field of children’s health from Dayton will present educational symposia and workshops, as well as abstracts and poster presentations based on their original research, to pediatricians and other health care professionals. Research topics include, “Impacts of Parental Health Literacy (HL) in Type I Diabetes Mellitus (T1DM),” “Tobacco Exposure in Children with CKD: Parental Attitudes and Knowledge” and “Monitoring Childhood Underinsurance in Southwestern Ohio: 2009-2011.” 

The PAS Annual Meeting brings together hundreds of scientists who are conducting original research in children’s health. PAS represents an opportunity to learn about and discuss the latest scientific discoveries, often before they appear in peer-reviewed journals. The meeting addresses all aspects of children’s health, including basic and clinical sciences, translational and health services research and clinical advances. 

Individuals representing Dayton as authors and co-authors at the meeting are: 

  • Sherman J. Alter, M.D. 
  • Paul R. Breyer, M.D. 
  • Ann E. Burke, M.D. 
  • Merrilee Imes Cox, M.D. 
  • Shalini G. Forbis, M.D., M.P.H. 
  • Sherry J. Hile, R.N. 
  • Ellen Frances Jackson, B.A. 
  • Harry J. Khamis, Ph.D. 
  • Miryoung Lee, Ph.D. 
  • Colleen McCormick, fourth-year medical student 
  • Caroline McNicholas, research coordinator 
  • Maria T. Nanagas, M.D. 
  • Vivian C. Nanagas, third-year medical student 
  • Abiodun Aderogba Omoloja, MBBS 
  • John M. Pascoe, M.D., M.P.H. 
  • Sara J. Paton, Ph.D. 
  • Jennifer Rammel, third-year medical student 
  • William Spears, Ph.D. 
  • Adrienne Stolfi, M.S. 
  • Amit Vohra, MBBS 

Located in Dayton, Ohio, the community-based Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine is affiliated with seven major teaching hospitals in southwest Ohio. In addition to providing medical education leading to the M.D., M.D./Ph.D., M.D./M.B.A. or M.D./M.P.H. degree, the medical school provides residency training in 13 medical specialties and continuing medical education programs for the community’s practicing physicians. Its nationally recognized research programs include centers of excellence in genomics, neuroscience, substance abuse and treatment, and human growth and development. 

Dayton Children’s is the region’s only medical facility dedicated to children. Consistently recognized as one of the country’s best pediatric hospitals, Dayton Children’s provides medical treatment, advice and information for children and families from 20 Ohio counties and eastern Indiana. Dayton Children’s accreditation by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations ensures the regions’ infants, children and teens receive excellent pediatric care. 

The Pediatric Academic Societies (PAS) consist of four individual pediatric organizations that co-sponsor the PAS Annual Meeting – the American Pediatric Society, the Society for Pediatric Research, the Academic Pediatric Association, and the American Academy of Pediatrics. The four sponsoring organizations are leaders in the advancement of pediatric research and child advocacy within pediatrics, and all share a common mission of fostering the health and well being of children worldwide. 

Editor’s note: For more information, contact: Cindy Young, Director of Marketing and Communications, Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine, (937) 775-4839, News is online at 

For more information, contact: 
Marketing Communications 
Phone: 937-641-3666