close   X

pediatric emergency medicine fellowship training

The pediatric emergency medicine fellows will rotate mainly in two sites during the fellowship. 

Dayton Children's Hospital

Dayton Children’s Hospital is a tertiary care referral center and a level I pediatric trauma center treating more than 80,000 children per year, including the critically ill of the Dayton region and beyond. From July 2019 - June 2020, Dayton Children's had 8,293 total admissions and 1,240 pediatric intensive care unit (PICU) admissions. The hospital is staffed by more than 400 physicians in more than 40 subspecialties and is host to a busy PICU and NICU (neonatal intensive care unit). The highly trained and diverse PEM faculty train, supervise and teach residents from various programs including pediatrics, emergency medicine, family medicine, and anesthesia in addition to medical students from Wright State University.

Miami Valley Hospital

The adult emergency medicine, trauma and toxicology rotations will be at Miami Valley Hospital (MVH) , the region's only level I trauma center (3,000 trauma admissions and 500 emergency surgeries/ year). The Shaw Emergency & Trauma Center at MVH is the busiest emergency department in the state of Ohio. MVH is home to multiple residency programs including emergency medicine, surgery and trauma. The fellow will also obtain additional simulation lab experiences at the Premier Health Bioscience and Simulation Center and trauma procedures at the cadaver lab.

meet our team

(click on a providers name to view their full biography)

Dr. Richard Strait

Director, pediatric emergency medicine fellowship program

Associate chief, division of emergency medicine

Medical director, emergency department south campus

Associate professor of pediatrics, Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine

Dr. Pradeep Padmanabhan

Associate program director, pediatric emergency medicine fellowship program

Pediatric emergency medicine fellowship development director

Associate professor of pediatrics, Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine

Dr. Thomas Krzmarzick

Chief, division of emergency medicine

Professor of pediatrics and emergency medicine at Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine

meet the PEM faculty

Kent DePue

Dana Drazner

Dale Evans

Dhritiman Gurkha

Susan Henry

Kristina Kirk

Jeremy Larson

Laura Lindsay

Kristin Paddon

Yagnaram Ravichandran

Joseph Toews

Laksmi Vemuru

Shernaz Wadia


full time pediatricians

Courtney Rowland

Marian Del Vecchio

Margaret Soulen

Diana Yepes

For a full list of all the emergency medicine providers, click here!

why Dayton Children’s CMEs

Find more information about Dayton Children’s.

learn more

Earn free CME with Grand Rounds Online or Pediatric Forum journal.

learn more