close   X

healthcare locations

Search Locations

close   X

12/9/13news article

Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine presents annual faculty awards to outstanding teachers, mentors

The Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine recognized several faculty members on Nov. 19 at its annual Faculty Awards event, which highlights the importance of teaching within the medical school and recognizes those who exhibit a strong commitment to teaching while serving as a role model to students, residents and colleagues.

Amanda L. Bell, M.D., associate professor of family medicine and clerkship director, received the Excellence in Medical Education Award. The award recognizes those who have a significant impact on the educational experience of the school’s medical students through teaching, leadership and engagement with the curriculum.

The Faculty Development Award was awarded to Ann E. Burke, M.D., associate professor of pediatrics and director of the pediatric residency program; Merrilee I. Cox, M.D., assistant professor of pediatrics and chief medical safety officer at Dayton Children’s Hospital; and Ranjana Sinha, M.D., M.H.A., assistant professor of pediatrics and medical director of inpatient general pediatrics at Dayton Children’s. This award recognizes faculty who have dedicated extensive time in developing themselves as educators through faculty development. All three have participated in the Academic Pediatric Association’s Educational Scholars Program, an intensive three-year faculty development program for academic pediatricians who wish to build their skills in educational scholarship.

The Faculty Mentor Award was given to Timothy C. Cope, Ph.D., Brage Golding Distinguished Professor of Research, chair of the Department of Neuroscience, Cell Biology and Physiology and codirector of the Wright State University & Premier Health Neuroscience Institute; and Paul G. Koles, M.D., chair and associate professor of pathology and associate professor of surgery. The award recognizes faculty who serve as role models for each other, promoting the professional development of others and creating a supportive and positive working environment.

The Innovation in Medical Education Award was presented to Mark M. Rich, M.D., Ph.D., professor of neuroscience, cell biology and physiology and professor of neurology. This award recognizes outstanding achievements in medical education, particularly in the development of new, innovative educational initiatives or programs.

The Voluntary Faculty Award was awarded to Robert M. Custer, M.D. (surgery); Craig A. Horn, M.D. (pediatrics); and Richard Nockowitz, M.D. (psychiatry). This award recognizes volunteer faculty who exhibit a strong commitment to teaching while serving as a role model to the medical school students.