close   X

4/26/21news article

Dayton Children’s provides COVID-19 vaccine support to Montgomery County high schools

This week, Dayton Children’s Hospital will begin supporting COVID-19 vaccine clinics at high schools throughout Montgomery County. Beginning April 28, clinical staff from Dayton Children’s will travel to Stebbins and Wayne High School to administer the Pfizer COVID-19 vaccine to students 16 and older.

Students who wish to receive the vaccine will need to have a signed consent form from a parent or legal guardian in order to receive the shot. The vaccine is not mandatory for students.

“In order to stop the spread of this virus, we all need to do our part. That means continuing to wear a mask and maintain social distance in public, and getting the vaccine if you are eligible,” said Adam Mezoff, MD, chief medical officer and vice president at Dayton Children’s. “We are pleased to partner with Montgomery County Schools to provide the Pfizer COVID-19 vaccine to students 16 and older, to help put an end to the pandemic.”

Dayton Children’s nurses will be administering the vaccine at more than a dozen schools throughout the community over the next few weeks. Participating schools include:

  • Dayton Public Schools (Belmont)
  • Dayton Public Schools (Thurgood)
  • Dayton Regional Stem School
  • DECA
  • GEM City Career Prep
  • Miami Valley School
  • Northridge
  • Montgomery County ESC Learning Center North
  • Oakwood High School
  • Stebbins High School
  • Trotwood High School
  • Valley View High School
  • Wayne High School

To sign up for a clinic appointment, parents should visit: