close   X

7/1/16news article

new officers elected to the Dayton Children’s professional staff

New officers of Dayton Children’s Hospital professional staff step into their new roles on July 1, 2016, serving a two year term.

The following physicians assume new roles this year:

  • Thomas Krzmarzick, MD, chair of the professional staff
  • Greg Eberhart, MD, past chair of the professional staff
  • Matthew Hardwick, MD, chair-elect of the professional staff
  • Patricia Abboud, MD, chair department of medicine
  • David Gooden, DO, chair department of surgery

Thomas Krzmarzick, MD, has been the medical director of the emergency department at Dayton Children’s Hospital since 1999.  He is also a clinical assistant professor of pediatrics and emergency medicine at Wright State University's School of Medicine and a member of the Board of Trustees. He is board certified in pediatrics and pediatric emergency medicine.

Dr. Krzmarzick earned his doctorate at the University of Iowa Medical School. He completed his pediatric residency at Children's Hospital Medical Center in Cincinnati, where he was also chief resident in pediatrics.

Greg Eberhart, MD, concludes his tenure as the chair of the professional staff and will take Dr. Elizabeth Ey’s position of past chair. He is a pediatrician at Cornerstone Pediatrics in Springboro. He is a graduate of The Ohio State University where he received both his undergraduate and medical degrees. He completed his pediatric residency through Wright-Patterson Air Force Base program in Dayton.

Matthew Hardwick, MD, is a pediatrician at PriMed Pediatrics in Beavercreek and has been taking care of children in the area since 1989.  He is board certified in pediatrics. He earned his medical degree at Ohio State University, and completed his residence at Columbus Children’s Hospital, which is now Nationwide Children’s Hospital.

Patricia Abboud, MD, is the division head of the department of pediatric critical care, an associate professor in pediatrics, and the medical director of pediatric transport services. She is board certified in pediatrics and pediatric critical care.  Dr. Abboud also blogs for Dayton Children's as a member of the Dr. Mom Squad.

She earned her doctorate at Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine, served her residency at Dayton Children’s and completed a critical care medicine fellowship at Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center.

David Gooden, DO, is a pediatric anesthesiologist at Dayton Children’s.  He earned his doctorate at Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine in Missouri, served his residency at Grandview Medical Center through Ohio University and completed a pediatric anesthesiology fellowship at Vanderbilt University Children’s Hospital in Nashville, Tennessee.

“We are very fortunate to have these incredibly talented, committed and caring physicians lead our medical staff,” said Adam Mezoff, MD, CPE, vice president and chief medical officer at Dayton Children’s.

The professional staff at Dayton Children’s is made up of more than 400 physicians and is an independent, organized medical staff that provides oversight of the quality of care, treatment, and services delivered by practitioners who are credentialed and privileged at Dayton Children’s. The organization is also responsible for:

  • Ongoing evaluation of the competency of practitioners who are privileged
  • Defining the scope of privileges that will be granted to practitioners
  • Providing leadership in performance improvement activities within the organization

For more information, contact: 
Stacy Porter 
Public relations manager 
Phone: 937-641-3666 

Thomas R. Krzmarzick, MD

division chief emergency medicine
view full bio