close   X

8/18/09 news article

Dana Drazner, MD, receives James W. Agna, MD, Award for Clinical Excellence

Dana Drazner, MD, received annual award from the WSU Boonshoft School of Medicine Emergency Medicine Residency Program

Dana B. Drazner, MD, a pediatric emergency medicine physician with The Children's Medical Center of Dayton, has received the 2009 James W. Agna, MD, Award for Clinical Excellence from the Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine Department of Emergency Medicine

Drazner, who is a clinical assistant professor of emergency medicine and pediatrics with the medical school, was selected for the honor by resident physicians in the school's Integrated Emergency Medicine Residency Program. The residents chose Drazner based on her skill in caring for patients, as well as her effectiveness as an instructor, singling her out for recognition from a group of more than 100 faculty members practicing throughout the Dayton region. 

She received her award at the resident graduation ceremony held June 19 at the Dayton Racquet Club. Jonathan Singer, MD, professor and director of scholarly works with the department, presented Drazner with the award on behalf of the residents. 

"She is a jewel of a person in terms of her personality," Singer said of Drazner. "She is always looking for something exciting in what may be commonplace and trying to find a learning point. Her approach to others is always bright and cheerful. She is an outstanding educator." 

Drazner has been affiliated with the residency program since 2001 and also won the Agna award in 2004. She also teaches Wright State residents in family medicine, internal medicine, pediatrics and internal medicine/pediatrics; fourth-year students at the medical school; and osteopathic emergency medicine residents affiliated with Grandview Medical Center. She received her medical degree from the Albert Einstein College of Medicine in Bronx, New York. 

The award honors James W. Agna, MD, who co-founded the residency program in the mid-1970s, when it was one of the first 10 programs in the nation. In conjunction with the program, the medical school established a full academic department of emergency medicine in 1980, becoming just the fourth U.S. medical school to do so. Agna served as acting chair of the department before the arrival of Glenn C. Hamilton, MD, M.S.M., professor and chair of emergency medicine and board chair of the National Center for Medical Readiness, who led the department from 1982 to 2009.

For more information, contact: 
Marketing Communications Department 
Phone: 937-641-3666

Dana Drazner, MD

emergency medicine
view full bio