close   X

healthcare locations

Search Locations

close   X

12/20/10news article

staff awards 2010

AAP Pediatrician Award, President of Nurse Executives, Advocate of the Year

David Roer, MD, Pediatrician Award, American Academy of Pediatrics

The Ohio Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) presented its prestigious 2010 Arnold Friedman Community Pediatrician Award to David L. Roer, MD, at a special presentation in November, 2010. The award is given in recognition of the efforts and dedication of pediatricians serving their local communities.

Dr. Roer is a professional staff member of The Children’s Medical Center of Dayton and a pediatrician with Pediatric Associates of Dayton. He has provided care for the children of Dayton and served the Dayton community for decades. He is currently serving his 17th year as a School Board Member for Centerville City Schools and is one of the founders of the South Suburban Coalition, a group formed to fight teenage drug and alcohol use. Dr. Roer led the fight to ban soda in schools from the beginning and because of his efforts junk food in vending machines was removed and replaced with healthy alternatives.

Dr. Roer was named Dayton’s “Man of the Year” in 2009 by the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society for his efforts in the fight against these cancers and in 2008, he raised over $100,000 for the March of Dimes fundraiser.

Renae Phillips, RN, President, Ohio Organization of Nurse Executive

Renae Phillips, RN, Vice President for Patient Care Services and Chief Nursing Executive at Dayton Children’s, was recently named the new president of the Ohio Organization of Nurse Executives (OONE), an organization that provides education and political representation of nurses through the Ohio Hospital Association.

The Ohio Organization of Nurse Executives describes itself as a “catalyst for innovative health care.” It was among the groups that supported House Bill 206, which eliminates restrictions on the authority of advance practice nurses to prescribe schedule II controlled substances under clearly defined conditions. OONE also supports Senate Bill 200 which provided limited prescriptive authority for certified registered nurse anesthetists during the preoperative, intraoperative and postoperative phases of surgical care.

Heather Koss, Advocate of the Year, Western Ohio Epilepsy Foundation

Heather Koss, Emergency Medical Services (EMS) coordinator at Dayton Children’s, has been named Advocate of the Year by the Western Ohio Epilepsy Foundation. In 2010, Koss partnered with the Epilepsy Foundation to educate over 1,500 EMS providers on seizures and the care of patients with seizures. 

This year, six national epilepsy foundations awarded grants to develop a national education program for pre-hospital providers. Having no medical experience, Katie, a young epileptic girl from the Western Ohio Epilepsy Foundation contacted Heather in hopes of implementing an education program. Heather and Katie partnered to bring a living testimonial and protocol-based educational offering to EMS providers to better understand the disease and provide better care for those suffering from epilepsy.

For more information, contact: 
Marketing Communications Department 
One Children's Plaza 
Phone: 937-641-3666