close   X

10/24/11news article

The Children’s Medical Center of Dayton board of trustees and Foundation Board welcomes new members and chairs

The Children’s Medical Center of Dayton’s board of trustees and Foundation Board announced its new members and officers during the October 18 annual meeting.

Rosie Goforth, Scott Kelly and Michael Shane were named as the newest additions to the 18-member board of trustees.

Goforth,has has served in several positions over the past 25 years within the Terrific Women in Giving (TWIGs) auxiliary including president.  Prior to owning her own business, Goforth’s spent almost 22 years with Globe Motors, where she worked in purchasing, sales, engineering and human resources.

Kelly serves as the president, DPL Energy and senior vice president, DP&L. He has played a key role in the development and operation of DPL's electric transmission and distribution system with particular focus on safety and reliability initiatives.  A graduate of Carnegie Mellon with a bachelor of science in mechanical engineering, Kelly is actively involved in the Dayton-area community, taking leadership roles in Big Brothers/Big Sisters of the Greater Miami Valley and the University of Dayton engineering advisory council. In 2009, he received the Black Engineer of the Year Award (BEYA).

Shane, chairman of Lastar Board, co-founded Cables To Go in 1984 and Lastar in 2000.  Prior to Lastar, he owned and operated a computer retail store, Computer Expressions. Shane is a graduate of Indiana University and is a member of The CEO Project, where he networks and collaborates with other top executives around the country in order to hone his own leadership skills.  In 1993 he was recognized by Ernst & Young as Entrepreneur of the Year.

Retiring from the board this year are Debbie Watts-Robinson, Marla Vichich, Neil McLachlan and Chairman Charles Foley. Foley has served on the board for ten years and will be replaced by Vishal Soin. Soin is president of Soin International and recently helped fund The Soin Pediatric Trauma and Emergency Center at Dayton Children’s. Other new officers of the board of trustees include Jerad M. Barnett, vice chairman, Laurence R. Klaben, secretary/treasurer and Colleen M. Ryan, assistant secretary/treasurer. The new positions will take effect during the board’s November meeting. 

The Foundation Board also announced Kevin McDonald as its newest addition.

McDonald is a vice president and trust officer within KeyBank National Association’s Key Private Bank in Dayton with over 25 years of experience.  He received a bachelor’s degree from Indiana University in finance and a masters in business administration from the University of Cincinnati, later earning the credentials to become a certified financial planner (CFP) in 1989 and completed two sessions of Ohio Trust School sponsored by the Ohio Bankers Association

McDonald holds several leadership positions within the community.  He is currently a board member of the Partnership for Philanthropic Planning, a founding member and current chair of Dayton Children’s hospital planned giving advisory committee and an active member of the marketing/public relations committee of The Dayton Foundation. 

While welcoming McDonald, the Foundation Board also says goodbye to Chair Natalie King Albert. Albert has served as chair for six years and as a member of the board for eight years. Replacing Natalie as chair will be John Slaughenhaupt. Slaughenhaupt is co-owner of ThreeWitt Enterprises INC which manages a number of Dayton area restaurants such as Buffalo Wild Wings and Milanos Atlantic City Submarines. Other new officers of the Foundation Board include Donna Hall, vice chairman, John W. Ey, secretary and John A. MacRitchie, treasurer.

Pictures available upon request

For more information, contact: 
Kelly Kavanaugh 
Director marketing communications 
Phone: 937-641-3666

toddler and preschool age diabetes support group (virtual)

The constant work it takes to manage diabetes well can be very overwhelming. Often it helps to talk with others who have been there too. RSVP to attend!

learn more