Dayton Children's Foundation

Print this page Bookmark and Share
John Slaughenhaupt, foundation board chair with his wife and two daughters John Slaughenhaupt, foundation board chair with his wife and two daughters

Dayton Children’s Foundation Board allocates donated funds every year for programs, research, advocacy and technology to benefit patients and support the mission of our hospital. The role of the Foundation Board is to help ensure the hospital has the resources it needs to provide the very best care for our children.

Currently chaired by John Slaughenhaupt, the 15-member Foundation Board of Trustees accepts outright endowment gifts, estate gifts and bequests specifically designated to Dayton Children's. Members of the investment committee oversee the investments of gifts in order to manage the funds' assets effectively and prudently.

On an annual basis, the Dayton Children's Foundation spends three percent of the market value of its investments on priority programs that benefit as many of Dayton Children's patients as possible. The Foundation does not accept independent or outside proposals for consideration.

This past year the Foundation Board approved $1,736,500 million to fund physician endowed chairs, pediatric specialist start-up funds, and technology-dependent children's supplies and support.

Foundation Board of Trustees

  • Officers
    • John Slaughenhaupt, Chair (2011 - present)
    • Patti Schear, Vice Chair
    • John Mac Ritchie, Treasurer
    • John Ey, Secretary


  • Members
    • Deborah Feldman, President and Chief Executive Officer, Dayton Children's
    • Daniel W. Dittman, Jr, CPA, CFP(R), CLU, Wealth Management Advisor,                  Northwestern Mutual Financial Network
    • John W. Ey, President, Radiology Business Managers, Inc.
    • Robert J. Fink, MD, Director of Pulmonary Medicine, Dayton Children's
    • Vicki S. Giambrone, VP, Strategic Partnerships &                                                         Chief Business Development Officer, Dayton Children's
    • Lisa Harlan, Community Leader
    • Helen Jones-Kelley, Executive Director, Montgomery County ADAMHS board
    • Anthony R. Kenney, Chief Executive Officer, Speedway SuperAmerica, LLC
    • John A. Mac Ritchie, VP, Wells Fargo Bank, NA
    • Kevin McDonald, Senior Development Officer, The Dayton Foundation
    • Cameron M. McGregor, MSN, RN, McGregor Consulting Group, LLC
    • David T. Miller, VP and Chief Financial Officer, Dayton Children's
    • Sandra K. Pierce, CPA, CFP, VP, Parker Carlson & Johnson
    • Nick Roberts, VP of Marketing, Cox Media Group
    • Jenni Roer, Executive Director, The Frank M. Tait Foundation
    • Patti Schear, Community Leader
    • John Slaughenhaupt, Owner, Milano's Atlantic City Submarines
    • Ruth C. Mead, chair emeritus


More Information

  • Dayton Children's is proud to be a Children's Miracle Network Hospital.

How Can We Help?

Stay Connected

Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Visit Our Blog Youtube Caring Bridge

Upcoming Events

Edison School Family Fun Night for Literacy

Voyage on the Parkway: a fun event for families with preschool aged children.

Wear a red shirt and join community partners walking from Our Lady of the Rosary School to the Kroc Center

Child car seat safety check by certified technicians

Blue Ribbon Nite Gala to support the Child Advocacy Center of Warren County

Join us for this special one night only event to raise money for Dayton Children's! Mingle with several of your favorite Dayton media celebrities including Nancy Wilson and several WHIO-TV personalities. Country Music superstars Maddie & Tae and RaeLynn will be performing live!

View full event calendarView full event calendar

Ways to Help

Learn how you can make a difference


The Children's Medical Center of Dayton Dayton Children's
The Right Care for the Right Reasons

One Children's Plaza - Dayton, Ohio - 45404-1815