Media Release: News briefs: TWIGS donate $227,000, Dr. Khan chosen to be Fellow of the American Gastroenterological Association, Dayton Children's employees honored as SPIRIT Stars of Excellence winners

Print this page Bookmark and Share

02-02-2009 (Dayton, OH) - TWIGS present check for $227,000 to Dayton Children's

TWIGs (Terrific Women in Giving), the auxiliary of The Children's Medical Center of Dayton, presented Madonna Alread, chair of Dayton Children's Board of Trustees, with a check for $227,000 at their annual meeting. The donation will be applied to the TWIGs total pledge of $500,000 to provide monitors for each patient room at Dayton Children's and to an endowment to provide training and certification for continued nursing excellence.

Several community members also were recognized as "Honorary TWIGs" for their outstanding and ongoing support of the TWIG organization and their efforts. This year's honorees were Dr. Mason Jones, Madonna Allread, Jim Basine, Cassano's Pizza and the copy center at Dayton Children's.

TWIGs president Chris Dittman also announced new officers of the auxiliary for 2009: Mary K. Young of Centerville, president; Cindy Guthrie of Centerville, president-elect; Stephanie Palmer of Centerville, secretary; and Rosie Goforth of Vandalia/Butler Township, treasurer.

Among some of the events planned for 2009 are a golf outing at The Dayton Country Club on June 15 and the annual Sugarplum Festival of Trees event on November 20 through the 22.

For more information about how to become a TWIG member, contact the development office at Dayton Children's at 937-641-3405.

Farhat Khan, MD, chosen to be a Fellow of the American Gastroenterological Association
Farhat Khan, MD, of Beavercreek, has been chosen to be a Fellow of the American Gastroenterological Association, the highest level of recognition.

Fellowship, the organization's highest level of membership, is an honor bestowed by the American Gastroenterological Association (AGA) in recognition of members' significant professional achievements in clinical practice or in basic clinical research. To date, more than 1,100 members have received this esteemed honor.

Fellowship in the AGA is by application only. Applicants must meet certain criteria in order to apply.

For more information log on to

Dayton Children's employees honored as SPIRIT Stars of Excellence winners at annual employee awards banquet
The following employees were recently recognized for their outstanding service and commitment to Dayton Children's patients and families.

  • Jeff Arnett, lab courier, of Vandalia
  • Pam Baker, Pediatric Intensive Care Unit, of Lewisburg
  • Chris Rado, transport services, of Bellbrook
  • Mary Scragg, Almost Home Unit, of West Milton
  • Ann Spinnato, rehabilitative services, Beavercreek
  • Denise Woodall, dietary, Dayton

SPIRIT Star of Excellence Award nominations are submitted by employees, managers, physicians, patients and families. Nominations include information on how each nominee serves as a consistent role model. These Stars of Excellence were recognized at Dayton Children's annual employee awards banquet on January 16.

For more information, contact:
Marketing Communications Department
Phone: 937-641-3666


About Dayton Children's

The right care for the right reasons


The Children's Medical Center of Dayton Dayton Children's
The Right Care for the Right Reasons

One Children's Plaza - Dayton, Ohio - 45404-1815